Towong Shire

Water and Sewerage


North East Water provides water and sewerage services to many locations within Towong Shire including Bellbridge, Dartmouth, Eskdale, Tallangatta, Walwa and Corryong. They on-sell water from Goulburn-Murray Water which manages storage, delivery and drainage systems for 70% of Victoria’s stored water. North East Water serves a region that extends over 20,000 square kilometres from Corryong to Yarrawonga, Benalla, Bright and Dartmouth.

Areas within the Shire not serviced by North East Water for their sewerage rely upon on-site waste water disposal and must comply with stringent guidelines. Click here to view the unsewered development requirements in the Planning section of our website. 

Wastewater Treatment

North East Water operates wastewater treatment plants at Bellbridge, Corryong, Dartmouth and Tallangatta.

Water Supply 

Water Treatment plants are operated by North East Water at Bellbridge, Dartmouth, Eskdale, Tallangatta and Walwa. Chlorine-ultra violet disinfection facilities are used at Corryong.        

Water sources for towns serviced in Towong Shire are:

Bellbridge Murray River / Lake Hume
Corryong / Cudgewa Nariel Creek
Dartmouth Lake Tabor / Mitta Mitta River
Eskdale Mitta Mitta River
Tallangatta Mitta Mitta River / Lake Hume


Last updated: 06 November 2014