Towong Shire

Mitta Mountain Rally

Mitta Mountain Rally

Mitta Mountain Rally set to go

46 entries have been received for this the second round of the 2016 Focus on Furniture and Bedding Victorian Rally Championship, 10 of which will be competing in the associated Mitta Masters for the George Fury Cup.  George was a twice Australian Rally champion who went on to be a successful touring car race driver, and who now lives in the Upper Murray.

Accommodation in the Mitta valley has been tested but has proved it can cope with the number of competing crews, their back up crews and the many officials needed to run an efficient and secure event in the forests around Mitta Mitta.

The rally will start from the Mitta Recreation Reserve at 8am on Saturday 14 May.  Crews will loop out and back to the Mitta rec reserve three times where their service crews will be located in a central service park.  Local community groups have combined to provide catering there for the duration of the rally.

Crews will arrive for the finish from 2 to 4pm, when a champagne presentation will be held for the podium finishers.  A presentation function for all the class and outright winners will be held on Saturday night at the Mitta Pub.

A damp start to the week should have roads in ideal firm condition by the time finer weather comes back around at the weekend.

Anyone wanting to venture out the bush to see the cars in action can grab a spectator guide from the Mitta Store from Friday morning, and Dartmouth Pub from Friday afternoon. It will contain information on where to go and when to see the action, a complete list of competing crews and vehicles, as well as advice on safe viewing.

The Mitta Mountain Rally is organised by the North Eastern Car Club in association with the Albury Wodonga and Districts Car Club.

The Multi Purpose Centre committee will coordinate catering at the Reserve throughout the day.

A presentation will be held at the Mitta Pub later on in the evening.

For any further information phone Ross Runnalls on 0408609968.



Last updated: 11 May 2016