Towong Shire

Jayco Herald Sun Tour - Tallangatta

Jayco Herald Sun Tour - Tallangatta

Tour de France winner Chris Froome will race through Tallangatta as he spearheads the Jayco Herald Sun Tour on its route through Towong Shire on Friday 3 February.

Riders are expected to arrive in Tallangatta at around lunchtime, with the race route taking them along Queen Elizabeth Drive and the spectacular Lake Hume Foreshore. Tallangatta’s residents and visitors will have the perfect vantage points as some of the world’s best cyclists ride through the town.

Towong Shire Council Mayor David Wortmann said the event was a coup for the Shire.

“This tour is an iconic event that draws national and international attention. Our beautiful Shire will be front and centre during Stage 2 of the event.”

“It’s the first time the Jayco Herald Sun Tour has passed through our Shire and will be a great spectacle for residents and visitors alike.”

“We have advised race organisers that when the riders get here they won’t want to leave, so to plan accordingly,” he joked.

“I’d encourage all residents to come out and show their support for this iconic event and to see some of the world’s best athletes in action.”

Tallangatta residents are advised that temporary traffic controls and rolling closures will be in place during the ride to restrict conflict between cyclists and motorists. Riders are expected to reach Tallangatta at around lunchtime and the temporary controls will be in place for a short time as the cyclists pass through the town. Affected intersections include:
• Towong Street/Banool Avenue
• Banool Avenue/Willong Street
• Willong Street/Queen Elizabeth Drive
• Queen Elizabeth Drive/Lakeside Drive
• Lakeside Drive/Towong Street

Residents will still be able to access their properties during the rolling closures. Council also asks residents to consider parking their cars off the roadway to allow safe and fast passage for the cyclists.

The 64th edition of Australia's oldest stage race will be held around Victoria from Wednesday 1st to Sunday 5th February 2017.

Last updated: 30 January 2017